Your Basket
You don't have any
courses in your basket.
If these changes cause any issues, you can contact our team to discuss your options.
Our opening hours are Monday - Thursday 8:30am - 5:30pm | Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm
 Live Chat
 info@ppltraining.co.uk  01904 403044

Authorising Engineer (AUENG)

£595 + VAT
2 Days
York,   Slough and On-site.
Course Overview
This course will provide you with the background knowledge required to carry out Authorising Engineer duties in support of statutory health and safety compliance. Our course can also be used to demonstrate meeting the competency requirements of mandatory standards (MOD's JSP 375 Volume 3), guidance documents (Healthcare Technical Memoranda) or company rules.

Please note we have the ability to offer this course on-site at client premises and on a bespoke basis.
Who is This Course For?
This is for experienced engineering staff who have a responsibility for the implementation, administration, monitoring and management of engineering Safe Systems of Work, and who are looking to be appointed as an Authorising Engineer. The course will also cover the key requirements within the role of an Authorising Engineer such as the appointment of operational staff who will implement and work with the defined Safe Systems of Work.
Start Date End Date Location Price (Ex. Vat)
Tue, 30th November 2021 Wed, 1st December 2021 York £595
Tue, 21st December 2021 Wed, 22nd December 2021 Slough £595
Tue, 4th January 2022 Wed, 5th January 2022 York £595
Tue, 1st February 2022 Wed, 2nd February 2022 Slough £595
Mon, 28th February 2022 Tue, 1st March 2022 York £595
Wed, 30th March 2022 Thu, 31st March 2022 Slough £595
Wed, 4th May 2022 Thu, 5th May 2022 York £595
Tue, 31st May 2022 Wed, 1st June 2022 Slough £595
Tue, 28th June 2022 Wed, 29th June 2022 York £595
Tue, 2nd August 2022 Wed, 3rd August 2022 Slough £595
Wed, 31st August 2022 Thu, 1st September 2022 York £595
Tue, 27th September 2022 Wed, 28th September 2022 Slough £595
Tue, 18th October 2022 Wed, 19th October 2022 York £595
Tue, 1st November 2022 Wed, 2nd November 2022 Slough £595
Tue, 13th December 2022 Wed, 14th December 2022 York £595

Day Morning Afternoon
One
  • Introduction
  • Statutory Compliance
  • The Role of the Authorising Engineer
  • Management of Safe Systems of Work
  • Authorised Person Selection, Training & Appointment
  • Project Session
Two
  • Auditing & Monitoring in Practice
  • Incident Investigation
  • Project Presentation & Evaluation Preparation
  • Project Presentation
  • Understand the management of Safe Systems of Work
  • Compliance and the role of the Authorising Engineer
  • Authorised person selection, training and appointment
  • Safety documentation - setting and maintaining standards
  • Auditing and monitoring
  • Incident investigation
  • Maintaining competence
  • Completion of log books and associated documentation
Prior to attending this course we recommend you have completed the following or their equivalent and possess:
Experience as an Authorised Person within the relevant sector.
Everything you require for this course is provided
Course Training Team

staffImage

Gary Cooper MIHEEM Tech IOSH MSOE MIPlantE

Managing Director

Gary is a qualified and multi-skilled mechanical engineer. He has over 30 years experience in military and commercial environments. Gary has an extensive background in safe systems of work, across the whole FM portfolio, and is a practicing AE for Mechanical and Confined Spaces for many NHS Trusts and FM companies.

staffImage

Don Maccallaugh

Associate Training Consultant

Don is a qualified Electrical, and Company Authorising Engineer with over 36 years' experience of the MoD and the private service sector. As a Chartered member of IOSH, Don has held several senior roles, which include UK Director of Compliance for a leading UK facilities management company. Don has extensive experience of HSE management systems, and mechanical and electrical safe systems management. He was previously the Technical Services Director responsible for all building services disciplines for a major facilities management organisation. Whilst employed as a MoD Training Manager Don managed the development of the Defence Estates BTEC safe system management qualification. Don has not only delivered training but also provided H&S consultancy extensively within the UK and overseas, including India, Gibraltar, Cyprus and Belize.


Customer Questions

Q: What is the role of the Authorising Engineer?
A: To act as an independent professional advisor for high risk engineering systems, by offering advice for the management of Safe Systems of Work, technical compliance and individual team skills and abilities.
Q: What is an Authorised Person?
A: An Authorised Person is defined as someone who has been formally authorised in writing to undertake a role.
Need more information or have a question about this course? Click ask a question to start a chat.
Request More Information
We'll never share your details with anyone else.
The majority of our images were taken pre-covid and do not replicate the control measures we currently have in place